Counting Down the Days

Someone asked me the other day if I was counting down the days until I left for Africa.  Just then I realized that I have less than one month until I graduate from Westminster College, and then an additional three short months  until I leave for Zambia, Africa.  My answer, “Of course I am!  I have 19 weeks and 2 days left!”  At that moment, I realized that I was so focused on the future, that I was missing the present.  I feel truly blessed for all of the opportunities that I have had and for all of the empty pages that I will be filling with amazing experiences that are sure to come, however, I don’t want to miss what is going on right now.

These next few months are going to fly, I know that.  While I am still at Westminster College, I am going to explore and cherish every moment I have left.  There is always a lot of nostalgia built up to graduation.  There is the excitement of finally, and I do mean finally, being done with all of the undergraduate classes.  Finished with the assignments you didn’t understand, and the tests you might not have done your best on.  People don’t remember those things, at least I don’t think I will.

I am going to remember the memories that I shared, the friendships that I created, and the life lessons that I have been taught by the many people that have touched my life.  Some of us will continue on to higher education, others will set out and find jobs, start families, and chase dreams.  We will become teachers, doctors, engineers, therapists, etc.  However, we will all be joined together by the memories and experiences that came from these past four years.  I don’t want to miss these next few weeks, and when it is finally time to say goodbye, I want to be able to say that I lived every moment I could.

(The picture on this post was taken during one of my most recent college adventures to a waterfall less than 15 miles from campus.)

Once I am home in Mayfield, New York, I have all summer to spend with the amazing friends and family who have helped to lay the foundation of the person that I have become today.  I couldn’t ask for better people to surround myself with for my last few months in the United States.  There is so much support and love built into that little town in Upstate New York, and I am so thrilled to call it home.  I know that these next few months are going to be filled with anxiousness, excitement, nerves, and countless questions, but I will be able to get through it all because of the amazing support I have from everyone who truly cares about me.

So am I counting down to the day I leave?  Absolutely.  However, just because I am counting down the time until I start my next big adventure, doesn’t mean that I will be missing all the amazing people and memories that are sure to come before I step on that plane in August.

 

 

Leave a Reply

