Well, why would you want to do that?

I have been getting asked that question a lot lately, and to be frank, I don’t necessarily have the perfect answer to it.  I guess the simplest answer I could give is that I want to help people, I want to serve, and I want to teach, but I could do that anywhere.  So, why Zambia?

Going to Zambia is surely going to be an adventure, and I know that this coming year is going to test me in many ways.  There are going to be a lot of days when I will fall, days when I will be challenged, and days when I don’t understand what my next move should be.  Honestly, there may even be days when I ask myself that very same question.

However, I am excited to embrace this struggle.  I am excited to take this journey one day at a time, to learn from my mistakes, and grow from my failures.  I am excited to face the unknown head on, and to search for new ways to overcome new obstacles that are not even on my radar yet.

I want to go to Zambia as a YAV because I do know that it is going to be hard.  I do know that I will grow, and that is an opportunity that I cannot pass up.  This next year is going to test me in a way that no other experience will.  It will show me my strengths, it will show me my weaknesses, and it will show me new things that I want in my life.

I want to go to Zambia, not only because it will test me, but also because I feel that if I do not go, I will regret it.  I don’t know exactly why I want to do this, but if I don’t, I might always be wondering, “what if?”.

I don’t want to wonder, I want to know.

I guess to sum all of this up, I don’t have a perfect answer to why I want to go, but I hope to find one as my journey unfolds.

Leave a Reply

