The Art of Dodging

Have you ever just been sitting around idly and your mind starts to wander?  You’re just kind of sitting there and you start thinking of some of the most random things.  Maybe it’s all the work you need to catch up on, or a fond memory you have with your friends and/or family.

Well tonight my mind was wandering.  I was waiting for sleep to come and for some reason I started thinking of the weird movies I used to watch as a kid, most of which were of the meaningless humor type, and most at the recommendation of my older brother Evan.

So here I am lying in bed and I start thinking of the movie Dodgeball. For those of you who haven’t seen it, Dodgeball is about a group of misfits who enter a Las Vegas dodgeball tournament in order to save their local gym from the onslaught of a corporate health fitness chain.

In order to get their team in shape, they hire a coach whose methods are anything but ordinary.  He is rough around the edges, and prefers for his “students” to learn quickly from experience, thus giving us the quote, “if you can dodge a wrench, you can dodge a ball.”  He tells the team this as he hurls iron wrenches at them as a training exercise.  A little unconventional? Yeah, I think so.

When all of this popped into my head, I got a good little chuckle of the memories of Evan and I watching this movie, but then I realized how much this quote actually fits into my life right now.

Here I am, living in Zambia, and I feel like I am dodging wrenches. During these last 8 months, I have overcome many different obstacles that have been thrown my way, some more gracefully than others, but I have still made it through them.

I am definitely not saying I don’t think I will have any more wrenches thrown at me.  I am not that naïve, but I am saying that, thanks to my time in Zambia, I will be more equipped to handle the other obstacles that will be thrown at me in the future.  I am also hopeful that the next time I have a wrench coming towards me, I will know that I have to duck.  I can take these wrenches that I have dodged and put them in my toolbox.  I can use them as reminders, incentives, and well, as tools, to keep moving forward even when the present situation may seem less than ideal.

So if you have a difficult situation flying in your direction, find a way to get out of its way, because “if you can dodge a wrench, you can dodge a ball.”

2 Comments Add yours

  1. sherri505 says:

    A good skill to learn, I guess…? And hopefully more empathy for the wrenches/spanners Zambians find themselves dodging, as well.

    Thanks also for the nice FB note today. I am glad that I am helping you be at least relatively sane… hopefully the time with your family is helpful, too!

    Blessings, Sherri

    Like

  2. Laurie says:

    Another wonderful post. You’re a gifted writer Olivia!

    Like

Leave a Reply

